Wolf Pack earns MWC Player, Coach of the Year honors

By  | 

RENO, Nev. (KOLO) In voting by the Mountain West coaches the University of Nevada men’s basketball team earned four of the top honors in the conference that were announced on Tuesday. Third-year head coach Eric Musselman was named Coach of the Year, Caleb Martin was named Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year while his twin brother Cody Martin was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Caleb Martin was joined on the MW first team by Jordan Caroline. Cody Martin was a second-team MW selection and Kendall Stephens earned third team honors. Cody Martin and Lindsey Drew were both named to the MW Defensive team.

Musselman, the third-year coach of the Wolf Pack, led Nevada to back-to-back outright regular season MW Championships after the team posted a 15-3 record this season and went 14-4 last year. It is just the second time in MW history a school has won back-to-back outright championships. BYU was the first team in 2007 and 2008. The 15 MW wins is a school record and second most in a season by a conference team.

Caleb Martin is the first Nevada player to be named MW Player of the Year and the second to earn Newcomer of the Year honors after Marcus Marshall was selected last year. Caleb Martin led the Pack and was third in the MW averaging 20.2 points playing in 17 MW games. The junior also averaged 5.2 rebounds, 1.4 steals and 2.5 assists per game. From the field he shot 45.4 percent and 39.8 percent on his 3-point attempts. Nevada’s last conference player of the year was Deonte Burton in 2012 when Nevada was a member of the Western Athletic Conference.

A junior Caroline earned first-team honors from the coaches this season after garnering second team honors last year. Caroline is second on the team and sixth in the MW averaging 18.1 points per game in MW play while his 8.3 rebounds per game tops the team and is fifth in the conference. His field goal percentage of 48.5 was ninth in the MW and he ranked among the leaders in offensive rebounds (2.7 rpg) and defensive rebounds (5.7 rpg).

Junior Cody Martin is the Pack’s first coaches MW Defensive Player of the Year. He also was named to the MW second team and defensive team. An all-around player, he averaged 14.1 points, 6.8 rebounds, 4.7 assists, 1.6 steals and 1.2 blocks in 34.5 minutes per game during the conference season. He ranked fourth in assists, steals, blocks and assists/turnover ratio (2.2) in MW play. From the field he finished sixth in the conference shooting 51.4 percent, 15th in scoring and 10th in rebounding playing 17 MW games.

The Pack’s top 3-point shooter, Stephens was named to the third team after averaging 15.5 points per game in conference play which ranked 11th. The senior set the MW record this season with 73 made 3-pointers in conference action. In MW play he made a conference high 4.1 3-pointers per game and ranked third making 44.8 percent of his shots from behind the arc.

Joining Cody Martin on the MW defensive team was Drew. The junior guard missed the final five games of the season after rupturing his achilles tendon in his right leg in the Boise State game. He finished the MW season averaging 10.3 points, 5.2 rebounds, 4.9 assists, and one block with a 3.2 assist turnover ratio in 31.7 minutes per game

Player of the Year: Caleb Martin, Nevada
Defensive Player of the Year: Cody Martin, Nevada
Newcomer of the Year: Caleb Martin, Nevada
Sixth Man of the Year: Alex Hobbs, Boise State
Freshman of the Year: Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Coach of the Year: Eric Musselman, Nevada

Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Deshaun Taylor, Fresno State
Jordan Caroline, Nevada
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Justin James, Wyoming

Cody Martin, Nevada
Malik Pope, San Diego State
Shakur Juiston, UNLV
Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Hayden Dalton, Wyoming

Bryson Williams, Fresno State
Kendall Stephens, Nevada
Anthony Mathis, New Mexico
Koby McEwen, Utah State
Sam Merrill, Utah State

Honorable Mention selections
Nico Carvacho, Colorado State
Antino Jackson, New Mexico
Jalen McDaniels, San Diego State
Ryan Welage, San José State

All-Defense Team
Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Deshon Taylor, Fresno State
Lindsey Drew, Nevada
Cody Martin, Nevada
Antino Jackson, New Mexico
Alan Herndon, Wyoming