Reno 1868 ends season with win, record finish

By  | 

TULSA, Okla. – Reno 1868 FC closed out the USL Championship regular season on Saturday with a convincing 3-0 victory over Tulsa Roughnecks FC to secure a second place finish in the Western Conference.

The victory set several single season club records including wins (18), points (60), road wins (10) and highest place league finish (2nd in Western Conference).

1868 FC started off quickly, when forward Aidan Apodaca earned a penalty kick after being fouled inside the box. Corey Hertzog converted the ensuing penalty kick to give Reno a 1-0 lead at the 15 minute mark.
Seven minutes later, Apodaca added to his tally to double 1868 FC's lead. Hertzog concluded the scoring by adding his second of the match in the 83rd minute. The forward's two goals moved his total to 18, matching a club single season high.

Saturday's match marked the third consecutive clean sheet for the club and ninth this season. Goalkeeper Matt Bersano made four saves for 1868 FC in the shutout.

Overall, Reno lead Tulsa in the majority of statistical categories including possession, duels won, interceptions, passing accuracy, and shots on target.

This concludes Reno 1868 FC’s 2019 regular season. Reno will be at home on October 26 at 5:15 p.m. PT for the USL Western Conference quarterfinal. Tickets for the second home playoff match in 1868 FC history are still available online, in person at the Greater Nevada Field ticket office or over the phone at (775) 334-7000.

Reno 1868 FC Starting XI
GK (12) Matt Bersano, D (16) Brent Richards ©, D (11) Duke Lacroix, D (3) Benjamin Galindo Cruz, D (6) Thomas Janjigian, M (19) Kevin Partida, M (40) Raul Mendiola, M (10) Lindo Mfeka, M (84) Seth Casiple, F (21) Corey Hertzog, F (17) Aidan Apodaca

GK (25) Damion Lewis, D (2) Emrah Klimenta, M (14) Eric Calvillo, M (23) Sam Gleadle, M (22) Siad Haji, F (32) Luis Paradela, M (8) Will Seymore


61’ - Eric Cavillo for Seth Casiple
73’ - Siad Haji for Adrian Apodaca
81’ - Luis Paradela for Kevin Partida

15’ - Corey Hertzog (penalty kick)
22’ - Adrian Apodaca
83’ - Corey Hertzog

22’ - Seth Casiple
83’ - Raul Mendiola

90+2’ - Luis Paradela (caution)