Nevada's Musselman, Martin earn All-District honors

By  | 

RENO, Nev. (KOLO) The honors continue to roll in for the Nevada men’s basketball team with the announcement of the United States Basketball Writers Association District VIII awards on Tuesday. Head coach Eric Musselman was named the Coach of the Year, Caleb Martin Player of the Year. Jordan Caroline joined Caleb Martin on the District VIII team.

It was the third Coach of the Year award for Musselman this season as he earned the Mountain West honor from the coaches and media. In consecutive seasons Musselman has been named the USBWA District VIII Coach of the Year after receiving the honor in 2017. The 26-6 Wolf Pack are ranked No. 22 in the latest college basketball polls.

Musselman, the third-year coach of the Wolf Pack, led Nevada to back-to-back outright regular season MW Championships after the team posted a 15-3 record this season and went 14-4 last year. It is just the second time in MW history a school has won back-to-back outright championships. BYU was the first team in 2007 and 2008. The 15 MW wins is a school record and second most in a season by a conference team.

Caleb Martin was honored as the District VIII Player of the Year and named to the district team. He was also named the MW Player of the Year in voting by the conference coaches. Caleb Martin led the conference averaging 19.5 points per game starting 21 of the 31 games in which he played. The junior also averaged 5.3 rebounds, 1.2 steals and 2.6 assists per game. From the field he shot 47.4 percent and 43.1 percent on his 3-point attempts. It the fourth time a Nevada player has earned the USBWA District VIII Player of the Year honor. Kirk Snyder was the 2004 recipient and Nick Fazekas in 2006 and 2007.

Caroline joined Caleb Martin on the District VIII team after averaging 17.6 points, a team-high 8.7 rebounds and two assists playing in all 32 games with 31 starts in his junior campaign. From the field he shot 47.4 percent which ranked eighth in the MW. He was named to the MW first-team by the conference coaches and media.

Caleb Martin, Nevada
Eric Musselman, Nevada

Jordan Caroline, Nevada
Yoeli Childs BYU
Hayden Dalton, Wyoming
Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Justin James, Wyoming
Jemerrio Jones, New Mexico State
Zach Lofton, New Mexico State
Akolda Manyang, Utah Valley
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Brandon McCoy, UNLV