Gangi named Wolf Pack's MVP

By  | 

RENO, Nev. – Fresh off of its Fremont Cannon-winning victory over UNLV, the Nevada football team handed out its postseason awards on Sunday at a banquet at the Eldorado hotel-casino.

Junior quarterback Ty Gangi was named the Wolf Pack’s Golden Helmet Award winner as the team’s most valuable player. Gangi, who started 10 of Nevada’s 12 games, completed 228-of-374 for 2,746 yards and 25 touchdowns and just 11 interceptions. The 25 touchdowns ranks as the eighth-most in Nevada’s single-season history.

Senior wideout Wyatt Demps was named the team’s Offensive MVP after leading the team in all receiving categories with 67 catches, 907 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Senior linebacker Austin Paulhus capped his Wolf Pack career as the team’s Defensive MVP. Paulhus recorded 112 tackles, including 14.5 for a loss, and 4.5 sacks in 12 games. The 112 tackles are the second-most by a Nevada player in the last 20 years.

Junior Trae Carter-Wells, a former walk-on from Reed High School who earned a scholarship during fall camp this year, was named as the team’s Special Teams MVP.

Senior Austin Corbett capped his senior season with being named as the Basalite Big Blocker, given to the top offensive lineman.
True freshman received McLane Mannix was named as the team’s Newcomer of the Year after finishing the season second in all major receiving categories with 57 catches, 778 yards and six touchdowns.
Captains Awards were given to Demps, Paulhus, Corbett and kicker Spencer Pettit.

Hustle Awards were given Kelton Moore (offense), Malik Reed (defense) and Nephi Sewell (special teams).

Scout Team Player of the Year honors went to Kaymen Cureton (offense), Anthony Hankins (defense) and Reese Neville (special teams).