Photo recreates event that gave women right to vote in Nevada

Nevada Gov. Steve Sisolak and others recreate a photo of when women were given the right to...
Nevada Gov. Steve Sisolak and others recreate a photo of when women were given the right to vote. Photo by Cathleen Allison/Nevada Momentum.(KOLO)
Published: Feb. 7, 2020 at 9:01 PM PST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

On the 100th anniversary of Nevada Gov. Emmett D. Boyle signing a resolution to ratify the amendment that gave the women the right to vote, Gov. Steve Sisolak and others recreated it on Friday.

Sisolak signed a proclamation honoring the anniversary of the 19th amendment. Sisolak and Nevada dignitaries recreated a photo of Boyle signing the resolution a century earlier.

The Nevada Women’s Suffrage Celebration Committee organized the event. The photo will be added to the” Silver State Sisters: Women Transforming Nevada” exhibit in the Capital Building in Carson City. The committee is made up of representatives from women’s organizations across Nevada educating Nevadans on the suffrage movement and the historic importance of the ratification of the 19th Amendment.

Sisolak is front and center in the photo. Also in the photo, back row, from left, is former first lady Kathryn List; Patti Bernard, former Washoe County School District Administrator and chair of the Nevada Women's History Project; former U.S. Sen. Richard Bryan; former First Lady Lauralyn Sandoval; Lori Bagwell, state vice regent, Nevada State Society Daughters of the American Revolution; Sondra Cosgrove, president of the League of Women Voters of Nevada; Mona Reno, past chair of the Nevada Women's History Project; Henderson Mayo;, Debra March; Larry Bender, former Las Vegas and North Las Vegas redevelopment manager; and Rob Boehmer, executive officer of the Nevada Deferred Compensation Program.

Front row, from left, is Dana Bennett, president of the Nevada Mining Association; Molly Walt, Nevada Commission for Women and chair of the Nevada Women's Suffrage Celebration Committee; Richann Bender, Nevada Commission for Women member; Dawn Gibbons, Nevada Transportation Authority commissioner, former state legislator and former First Lady; Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson; First Lady Kathy Sisolak; Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske; Chloe Walt, Carson High School senior; Nevada Assemblywoman Maggie Carlton; Lt. Gov. Kate Marshall; and Carson City Mayor Bob Crowell.

To learn more about suffrage celebration events planned throughout Nevada in 2020, visit:


Copyright KOLO-TV 2020