New left lane law goes into effect July 1
Freeway traffic is supposed to be one of the most efficient ways to get around town and between cities. But nothing is more frustrating than getting behind someone in the fast lane who just isn't going fast.
“I think they should be cited if they are well below the speed limit. If it is a couple of miles and not hindering traffic and not causing a problem…. if well below the speed limit they should be cited,” says local driver Jesse Morales.
Now there is relief for Jesse and the thousands of other drivers in Nevada who want slow drivers to get out of the fast lane.
“It's the number one lane,” says Trooper Dan Gordon with the Nevada Highway Patrol.
Trooper Gordon takes us for a ride I-580 to explain
. It goes into effect July 1.
The law says drivers can be cited if they drive in the fast lane---holding back traffic behind them.
Gordon says it's one of the top reasons for road rage.
“What they will do is move over to the second lane, #2 lane, or middle lane. They will pass and then as soon as they clear the car, they will cut back in the fast lane, cutting the driver off that is going below the speed limit. And next thing you know, they are showing each other they are number one, and they are holding up the finger,” says Trooper Gordon
Gordon says the far left or fast lane is designed as a passing lane.
Drivers should yield to the right for cars coming up behind them. The driver in the rear should pass and get over as well into the right lane.
Trooper Gordon says the far left lane is also reserved for emergency vehicles.
“This is where we need to be especially for responding to an incident,” he says.
The trooper says the law won't be hard to enforce as they'll be able to see when a car in the left lane just isn't going fast enough.
As we drive down the interstate in the far left lane he points ahead to us.
“White car 4th car up is going below the speed limit. You can kind of see the effect it has,” he says.
Indeed, four cars behind the white car are stifled in the left lane, and there’s no room in the right hand lane to move over.
What if all the cars in the left lane are, say, going 90 miles an hour?
“Nevada is personal responsibility. You have to do the right thing,” says Trooper Gordon.
First-time offenders face a $50 fine. It goes up from there. And, yes, your insurance company will consider it a moving violation.