New Sparks Mayor sworn into office

SPARKS, Nev (KOLO) Outgoing Sparks Mayor Geno Martini gave the oath of office at the Sparks City Council Chambers the afternoon of November 13, 2018. Taking that oath was former Ward Three Sparks City Councilman Ron Smith.

Smith became Mayor-elect last June after taking 60% of the vote during primary elections in Washoe County.

Applications for Smith's replacement in Ward 3, now that he is Mayor, will be accepted by the city of Sparks until November 16. December 10, Mayor Smith will interview whom he considers the best candidates to replace him in Ward 3.

He will make his recommendation to other city council members at the end of those interviews. At that time city council members will ratify that recommendation. Smith has 30 days to fill the Ward 3 post.

Other candidates sworn into office November 13, 2018 were Municipal Court Judge Jim Spoo, a former Sparks Mayor, plus City Council members Charlene Bybee and Ed Lawson.