Nevada's DUI ignition interlock law expands October 1
A Nevada DUI ignition interlock law is expanding October 1, 2018.
During the 2017 Legislative Session, Senate Bill 259 passed, requiring anyone arrested with a 0.08 blood alcohol level or above to use interlock for 90 days after an arrest.
If convicted, a judge must order an ignition interlock for at least six months unless the judge determines it would not serve the interest of justice.
Groups like Mothers Against Drunk Driving say this law will help make sure other families don’t lose loved ones to drunk drivers.
"I don't want this to happen to anybody else and I know you wouldn't want your family to be injured out there because of a drunk driver out there. I think it's very important, these are safeguards. Are they perfect? It's not perfect, but it's an amazing program," said Debbie Zelinski of Mothers Against Drunk Driving.
Current Nevada law requires first-time offenders with a blood alcohol level of 0.18 or above to use ignition interlock for at least one year.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention says ignition interlocks stop repeat drunk driving offenses by 67 percent when compared to just suspending a person’s license.