General election matchups set after Tuesday's primary

By  | 

RENO, Nev. (KOLO) - The 2018 Nevada primary is over, so while some candidates are preparing to take their campaign signs down, others are continuing to campaign for the November general election.

In Reno, Mayor Hillary Schieve, running for a second term, took 63% of the primary vote against seven challengers and will face second-place Eddie Lorton, who got 18% of Tuesday's vote.

For Reno City Council, Councilwoman Naomi Duerr will face Joe Lawrence in the general for Ward 2, and Councilman Paul McKenzie will face Bonnie Weber for Ward 4.

In Sparks, thanks to a rule that says any candidate who wins 50% + 1 of the primary vote avoids a general election runoff, Councilman Ron Smith has already been elected Mayor to replace the outgoing Geno Martini. Smith got 61% of the vote. Similarly, Councilwoman Charlene Bybee got 71% of the vote to hold on to her seat. Neither will appear on the November ballot.

In the race for Washoe County Sheriff to replace the outgoing Chuck Allen, two WCSO veterans took the top two spots to face each either in November. Darin Balaam took 47% of the vote; Heidi Howe took 25%. Five others each pulled in single-digit percentages.

For Governor to replace the outgoing Republican Brian Sandoval, Republican Attorney General Adam Laxalt easily beat seven challengers to win the GOP nomination. He goes on to the general to face Clark County Commissioner Steve Sisolak, who won the Democratic nomination against fellow Clark Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani and four other Democrats.

Republican US Senator Dean Heller won his primary race to keep his seat, and will face Democratic Rep. Jacky Rosen in November. Republican Rep. Mark Amodei won his primary to keep his Congressional District 2 seat, fending off Republicans including former lawmaker Sharron Angle, and will face Democrat Clint Koble.

For more complete lists of winners, click here, here and here.