Washoe Co. School Board swears in new trustee for District D

Trustee Elizabeth "Beth" Smith is sworn in during Monday's special meeting.
Trustee Elizabeth "Beth" Smith is sworn in during Monday's special meeting.(KOLO)
Published: Jul. 20, 2021 at 10:56 AM PDT|Updated: Jul. 26, 2021 at 12:08 PM PDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

RENO, Nev. (KOLO) - The Washoe County School District Board of Trustees appointed Elizabeth “Beth” Smith to represent District D during a special meeting Monday.

Smith replaces Kurt Thigpen, who left the Board due to health issues and resigned on July 14, 2021.

Trustee Smith will represent District D, which is an area encompassing south central Reno.

She was sworn-in at Monday’s special meeting after the Board interviewed finalists that were selected last week from ten initial applicants. The vote for Smith was 4-2.

Smith is a parent of two elementary school students and is chair of the WCSD Zoning Advisory Committee.

Earlier this month, the Board appointed Joe Rodriguez to represent District C replacing Andrew Caudill, who resigned to accept a position out of state.

ORIGINAL STORY: The Washoe County School Board has selected the finalists to replace Trustee Kurt Thigpen in District D, which encompasses South Central Reno.

Hawah Ahmad, Matthew Buehler, Terry Edwards, Mark Green, Jill Pellicciarini, Serena Robb, Tyler Rogers, Ann Silver, Elizabeth “Beth” Smith, and Shelia Young all submitted applications to the board.

After the applicants had the opportunity to address the board, the Trustees voted to narrow the candidates to the top five: Ahmad, Robb, Rogers, Silver, and Smith.

The finalists will be interviewed by the board and a new Trustee selected at a special meeting of the School Board on Monday, July 26th at 9am.

The Trustee selected will fill the seat for the next year and a half until the next general election.

On July 13th, the Trustees selected Joseph “Joe” Rodriguez to fill the District C seat, vacated by the resignation of Trustee Andrew Caudill.

Copyright 2021 KOLO. All rights reserved.