Barker Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

By: Nevada Email
By: Nevada Email

DALLAS (FWAA) - The prestigious 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List was released today with a galaxy of potential line stars who could win the award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

The list includes Nevada senior Chris Barker, a two-time All-Conference selection who has started all 40 games of his collegiate career at one of the guard positions for “The Union” at Nevada. Barker was a first-team All-WAC selection last year as a senior after being named to the second team as a sophomore. Barker is one of just three Mountain West players on the list.

Senior Barrett Jones from defending national champion Alabama heads a list of 71 players, which includes only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. Of the players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense. Every Division I Bowl Subdivision conference, along with independents BYU and Notre Dame, had at least one player on the list.

The 6-5, 302-pound Jones, who has switched from offensive tackle to center, will seek to become only the second player to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Nebraska center Dave Rimington, in 1981-82, is the only player to pull off the double.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.


OT Oday Aboushi, Virginia

G Alvin Bailey, Arkansas

OT David Bakhtiari, Colorado

G Chris Barker, Nevada

C Mario Benavides, Louisville

DT Josh Boyd, Mississippi State

C Braxston Cave, Notre Dame

G Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina

DT Everett Dawkins, Florida State

DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

OT Chris Faulk, LSU

C James Ferentz, Iowa

DT Sharrif Floyd, Florida

OT D.J. Fluker, Alabama

G Blaize Foltz, TCU

C Travis Frederick, Wisconsin

C Dalton Freeman, Clemson

G Theo Goins, UCF

C Ben Habern, Oklahoma

DT Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State

G Braden Hansen, BYU

OT Caylin Hauptmann, FIU

DT Jordan Hill, Penn State

C Khaled Holmes, USC

OT Alex Hurst, LSU

OT James Hurst, North Carolina

G Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma

G Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

DT John Jenkins, Georgia

DT Timmy Jernigan, Florida State

OT Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

C T.J. Johnson, South Carolina

OT Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

C Barrett Jones, Alabama

G Joe Kellogg, Boise State

C Tyler Larsen, Utah State

OT Taylor Lewan, Michigan

DT Bennie Logan, LSU

G Spencer Long, Nebraska

DT Star Lotulelei, Utah

OT Zack Martin, Notre Dame

OT Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

G Chris McDonald, Michigan State

C Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech

OT Morgan Moses, Virginia

DT Roosevelt Nix, Kent State

C Graham Pocic, Illinois

OT Mark Popek, USF

OT Justin Pugh, Syracuse

G Cyril Richardson, Baylor

C Weston Richburg, Colorado State

DT Kawann Short, Purdue

DT Akeem Spence, Illinois

DT Baker Steinkuhler, Nebraska

OT Matt Summers-Gavin, California

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas

G Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State

G Dallas Thomas, Tennessee

DT Aaron Tipoti, California

G Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech

DT Joe Vellano, Maryland

OT LaAdrian Waddle, Texas Tech

OT Ricky Wagner, Wisconsin

G Mason Walters, Texas

G Larry Warford, Kentucky

G Chance Warmack, Alabama

C Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech

DT Jesse Williams, Alabama

DT Sylvester Williams, North Carolina

G David Yankey, Stanford

G Carson York, Oregon

By conference: SEC (19), Big Ten (12), ACC (11), Big 12 (7), Pac-12 (7), Big East (4), Independents (3), Mountain West (3), WAC (2), Conference USA (1), MAC (1), Sun Belt (1).

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 162268775 -
Gray Television, Inc.