Pack's Micka Up for Player of the Year Honors

Wolf Pack catcher Noelle Micka is one of 50 players named to the preseason watch list for the 2009 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award.

Micka was a second-team All-American last season; the first player in school history to ever receive that honor.

Micka also set school records last year with a .399 batting average, 83 hits and 43 runs scored. Not bad for a freshman!

The Wolf Pack opens up their 2009 season on February 6th at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Arizona.

Official Release:

The Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, has selected its initial “Watch List” for the 8th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honors in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee’s Monica Abbott and Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher.

The 2009 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 32 schools and 13 different NCAA Division I Conferences.

The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 1. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a top 25 finalist. However, once the top 25 finalists are named the winner of the award will come from that list. *Freshman qualify for the top 25 list once they have competed at the collegiate level.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 6. The final three finalists will be announced May 20 while the winner of the 2009 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2009 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

2009 USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List

Name – School – Year – Position

Valerie Arioto (California) – Sophomore – Utility
Brandice Balschmiter (Massachusetts) – Senior – Pitcher
Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State) – Junior – Catcher/Infield
Ashley Brignac (Louisiana-Lafayette) – Sophomore – Pitcher
Neena Bryant (Oregon) – Outfield – Junior – Placentia, Calif.
Ashley Charters (Washington) – Senior - Infield
Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) - Senior- Outfield
Lauren Delaney (Northwestern) – Junior – Pitcher
GiOnna DiSalvatore (UCLA) – Sophomore - Utility
Krista Donnenwirth (Arizona State) – Sophomore - SS/Third Base
Angela Findlay (Michigan) – Junior – Outfield
Ali Gardiner (Florida) – Senior – First Base
Lauren Grill (Mississippi) – Junior – Infield
Alissa Haber (Stanford) – Junior – Outfield
Becca Heteniak (DePaul) – Junior – Pitcher
Tiffany Huff (Tennessee) – Junior – Catcher/First Base
Amanda Kamekona (UCLA) – Senior – Infield
Megan Langenfeld (UCLA) – Junior – Pitcher/First Base
Brittany Lastrapes (Arizona) – Sophomore – Outfield
Danielle Lawrie (Washington) – Junior - Pitcher
Jenae Leles (Arizona) – Senior – Third Base
Robin Mackin (Nebraska) – Junior - Pitcher
Sam Marder (Ohio State) – Junior– Catcher
DJ Mathis (Oklahoma) - Senior – Pitcher
Morgan Melloh (Fresno State) – Sophomore - Pitcher
Noelle Micka (Nevada) – Sophomore – Catcher
Rachel Mitchell (LSU) – Junior – Outfield
Kelley Montalvo (Alabama) – Senior – Utility
Charlotte Morgan (Alabama) – Junior– Pitcher/Utility
Kara Nelson (Illinois State) - Junior – Third Base
Stacey Nelson (Florida) – Senior – Pitcher
Nikki Nemitz (Michigan) – Junior – Pitcher
Megan Patton (DePaul) – Senior – Third Base
Missy Penna (Stanford) – Senior – Pitcher/Infield
Haley Perkins (Fresno State) – Senior – Infield
Brette Reagan (Baylor) – Senior – Infield
Samantha Ricketts (Oklahoma) - Senior - First Base
Brittany Rogers (Alabama) – Senior – Outfield
Jamie Schloredt (Sacramento State) – Senior – Catcher
Kirsten Shortridge (LSU) – Junior – Pitcher/Outfield
Danielle Spaulding (North Carolina) – Junior – First Base/Pitcher
Jordan Taylor (Michigan) – Sophomore – Pitcher
Rhea Taylor (Missouri) – Sophomore – Outfield
Brooke Turner (Long Beach State) – Sophomore – Pitcher
Jessica Valis (Houston) – Senior – Infiel
Laurie Wagner (Houston) – Senior – Outfield
Kim Waleszonia (Florida) – Senior – Outfield
Megan Wiggins (Georgia) – Sophomore – Infield
Tammy Williams (Northwestern) – Senior – Infield
Jen Yee (Georgia Tech) - Junior - Second Base

About ASA

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation’s largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 83 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 240,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit

About USA Softball

USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of the only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won eight World Championship titles including the last six consecutive as well as claimed two World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit

KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 38754422 -
Gray Television, Inc.