Summit League Axes Acronyms To Showcase Big Cities

By  | 

FARGO, N.D. (AP) - An NCAA Division I conference composed of mostly Midwest teams has decided that alphabet soup isn't terribly appealing.

The Summit League has decided to call three of its teams by the last name of the university on first reference.

The University of Nebraska-Omaha is just Omaha, the University of Missouri-Kansas City is Kansas City, and Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne is Fort Wayne.

No more UNO, UMKC and IPFW - at first glance, anyway.

The change is meant to highlight the conference's big cities, as well as make the schools more nationally recognizable. It follows the lead of other conferences and schools throughout the country.

There is one exception. Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis is still IUPUI, because of a possible conflict with Division II University of Indianapolis.