Reed's Maluotoga Wins State High School Heisman Award

The Wendy’s® High School Heisman® program honored two of Nevada’s most outstanding high school seniors with the distinguished recognition as a State Winner of the 2013 Wendy’s® High School Heisman® Award. Moriah Maluotoga of Edward C. Reed High School in Sparks and Zachary Surmacz of West Career and Technical Academy in Las Vegas will now advance to compete for the national award that celebrates their hard work, dedication in athletics, academics and community leadership.

“Moriah and Zachary are exceptional examples of well-rounded students who excel academically, lead and serve others with the passion and persistence of a Heisman winner,” said Archie Griffin, two-time collegiate Heisman Trophy winner. “While these students are recognized as leaders in their communities, the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award gives them the national recognition their achievements have earned.”

The Wendy’s High School Heisman Award, now in its 20th year, is awarded in conjunction with the collegiate Heisman. The award has set the standard for high school student-athletes and has gained tremendous prestige among universities and colleges nationwide.

Maluotoga and Surmacz were chosen from 48,000 applicants, surviving rounds that narrowed contenders to one male and one female winner from each school, and then to Nevada’s respected group of 20 State Finalists.

Maluotoga and Surmacz will compete against winners from other regions across the country for a chance to be named one of 12 National Finalists in Wendy’s annual quest to find the nation’s top scholar-athletes. These 12 outstanding students will go on to compete for the National Winner title in New York City on December 13. National Finalists will be featured during a televised ceremony on ESPN® networks and will receive gold medals and $2,000 awards for their high schools. One male and one female National Winner will each receive a crystal Wendy’s High School Heisman trophy, a $500 Wendy’s gift card, and a donation from Wendy’s in the amount of $10,000 to their respective high school. Additionally, the winners will be recognized during the collegiate Heisman Trophy announcement on December 14.