Nevada's Wimberly Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

By  | 

RENO, Nev. – Nevada senior wide receiver Brandon Wimberly has been named to the Watch List for the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Tuesday.

A first-team All-Mountain West selection in 2012, Wimberly led Nevada with 70 catches for 845 yards to go along with four touchdowns. He was third in the MW in receptions per games and fifth in the conference in yards per game. For his career, Wimberly has 164 receptions for 2,060 yards and 10 scores.

Wimberly has caught a pass in 40 consecutive games – all 40 games of his career – which is the longest active streak in the nation. He has also started 37 games in his career, which is tied for the 11th-longest streak in the nation entering the season.

Wimberly is one of just five Mountain West players on the list.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 12 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The list:

Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin
Davante Adams Fresno State
Nelson Agholor USC
Alex Amidon Boston College
Odell Beckham, Jr. LSU
Kenny Bell Nebraska
Michael Bennett Georgia
Chris Boyd Vanderbilt
Corey Brown Ohio State
Aaron Burbridge Michigan State
Damiere Byrd South Carolina
Michael Campanaro Wake Forest
Brandon Carter TCU
Brandon Coleman Rutgers
Brandin Cooks Oregon State
Amari Cooper Alabama
Jamison Crowder Duke
DaVaris Daniels Notre Dame
Mike Davis Texas
Quinshad Davis North Carolina
Titus Davis Central Michigan
Stefon Diggs Maryland
Phillip Dorsett Miami
William Dukes FAU
Quinton Dunbar Florida
Bruce Ellington South Carolina
Mike Evans Texas A&M
Shaquelle Evans UCLA
Austin Franklin New Mexico State
Jeremy Gallon Michigan
Keyarris Garrett Tulsa
Ryan Grant Tulane
Rashad Green FSU
Dorial Green-Beckham Missouri
Deontay Greenberry Houston
Noel Grigsby San Jose State
Je’Ron Hamm Louisiana-Monroe
Justin Hardy East Carolina
Chris Harper California
Robert Herron Wyoming
Cody Hoffman BYU
Josh Huff Oregon
T.J. Jones Notre Dame
Cody Latimer Indiana
Marqise Lee USC
Jordan Leslie UTEP
Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt
J.D. McKissic Arkansas State
Trey Metoyer Oklahoma
Matt Miller Boise State
Malcolm Mitchell Georgia
Donte Moncrief Ole Miss
Tracy Moore Oklahoma State
Alex Neutz Buffalo
Kevin Norwood Alabama
DeVante Parker Louisville
Charone Peake Clemson
Bernard Reedy Toledo
Tevin Reese Baylor
Paul Richardson Colorado
Allen Robinson Penn State
Shaq Roland South Carolina
Alonzo Russell Toledo
Jalen Saunders Oklahoma
Jaxon Shipley Texas
Tommy Shuler Marshall
Devin Smith Ohio State
Willie Snead Ball State
Josh Stewart Oklahoma State
Devin Street Pittsburgh
Eric Thomas Troy
Jordan Thompson West Virginia
Eric Ward Texas Tech
Sammy Watkins Clemson
Brandon Wimberly Nevada