Nevada's Shipley Named Co-MWC Pitcher of the Year

By  | 

Nevada's Braden Shipley and Brooks Klein have been named to Mountain West baseball teams. Shipley, the Wolf Pack's ace pitcher, was named the Co-MW Pitcher of the Year and Klein earned second team honors in the outfield.

Shipley earned conference pitcher of the year honors for the second year in a row after being named the Western Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Year as a sophomore in 2012. Shipley is 7-3 on the season with a 2.81 ERA in 99.1 innings on the mound. He tops the team in wins, ERA, innings pitched and strikeouts with 94. Shipley, from Medford, Ore., was 5-1 with a 2.76 earned run average in Conference play this year. He was second in the league with an opposing batting average of .211 and 61 strikeouts. Shipley threw a league-high 71.2 innings.

Klein the Pack's starting right fielder is batting .338 with 33 runs scored, 12 doubles, four triples and 42 RBI. He tops the team in RBI, doubles, triples and is second with seven home runs. In MW play he batted .301 with 14 runs scored, seven doubles, a triple, two home runs and drove in 21.

Nevada opens play in the MW Championship tonight against Fresno State at 7 p.m. at Pete Beiden Field in Fresno, Calif.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - For the second straight season, the Mountain West baseball coaches chose New Mexico senior catcher Mitch Garver and junior third baseman DJ Peterson as the MW Baseball Co-Players of the Year as the 2013 All-Conference team and individual award winners were announced today. Nevada junior right-hander Braden Shipley and UNLV junior right-hander Buddy Borden were named MW Co-Pitchers of the Year, while Fresno State right-hander Blake Quinn and New Mexico second baseman Sam Haggerty are Co-Freshmen of the Year. UNM skipper Ray Birmingham earned his second consecutive MW Coach of the Year honor.

The pairing of Garver and Peterson led the Lobos to a second consecutive regular season championship for the Lobos in 2013. The duo ranked among the top three in eight offensive categories including batting average, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, runs scored, hits, runs batted in, doubles and total bases in MW action. They tied for first in RBI with 42 apiece. Peterson, a Gilbert, Ariz., product, topped the league with a .769 slugging percentage, .525 on-base percentage, 16 doubles, seven home runs and 83 total bases. Garver, an Albuquerque, N.M., native, led the league with a .416 batting average, just ahead of Peterson in second at .407. Garver also tops the Conference with 52 hits.

Shipley, from Medford, Ore., was 5-1 with a 2.76 earned run average in Conference play this year. He was second in the league with an opposing batting average of .211 and 61 strikeouts. Shipley threw a league-high 71.2 innings. Borden, from Las Vegas, Nev., finished with a 6-0 Conference record and a 2.84 ERA in 66.2 innings. He also had 47 strikeouts and an opposing batting average of .250.

In seven MW appearances, Quinn, a Fresno, Calif., native, produced a league-leading 2.15 ERA as well as a Conference-best .207 opposing batting average. Hailing from Denver, Colo., Haggerty led the league with 37 runs scored, 26 walks and five triples in MW action.

Birmingham led the Lobos to their second Mountain West regular season title since 2000, the league's inaugural year. UNM compiled a 25-5 Conference record en route to earning the No. 1 seed for the 2013 Mountain West Baseball Championship, May 22-26, at Pete Beiden Field in Fresno, Calif.

Seven players were repeat All-Conference selections from a year ago, including Garver's and Peterson's teammates Alex Allbritton and Josh Melendez. The Air Force duo of Seth Kline and Garrett Custons are also repeat honorees, along with UNLV's Brandon Bayardi. Custons and Bayardi have been named to the All-MW team for the third season.

2013 All-Mountain West Baseball Team


Catcher: Mitch Garver - New Mexico (Sr.)
First Base: Seth Kline - Air Force (Jr.)
Second Base: Tim Zier - San Diego State (Jr.)
Third Base: DJ Peterson - New Mexico (Jr.)
Shortstop: Alex Allbritton - New Mexico (Sr.)
Outfielder: Aaron Judge - Fresno State (Jr.)
Outfielder: Josh Melendez - New Mexico (Sr.)
Outfielder: Brandon Bayardi - UNLV (Sr.)
DH/Utility: Garrett Custons - Air Force (Sr.)
Pitcher: Braden Shipley - Nevada (Jr.)
Pitcher: Sam Wolff - New Mexico (Sr.)
Pitcher: Ryan Doran - San Diego State (Sr.)
Pitcher: Buddy Borden - UNLV (Jr.)
Relief Pitcher: Gabe Aguilar - New Mexico (Sr.)


Catcher: Jake Romanski - San Diego State (Sr.)
First Base: Ryan Muno - San Diego State (So.)
First Base: Patrick Armstrong - UNLV (Jr.)
Second Base: Sam Haggerty - New Mexico (Fr.)
Third Base: T.J. White - UNLV (So.)
Shortstop: Chris Mariscal - Fresno State (So.)
Outfielder: David Baska - Air Force (Sr.)
Outfielder: Brooks Klein - Nevada (Sr.)
Outfielder: Luke Campbell - New Mexico (Sr.)
DH/Utility: Alex Real - New Mexico (So.)
DH/Utility: Mark Shannon - UNLV (Sr.)
Pitcher: Blake Quinn - Fresno State (Fr.)
Pitcher: Michael Cederoth - San Diego State (So.)
Relief Pitcher: Bubba Derby - San Diego State (Fr.)

Co-Players of the Year -
Mitch Garver, New Mexico; DJ Peterson, New Mexico

Co-Pitchers of the Year -
Braden Shipley, Nevada; Buddy Borden, UNLV

Co-Freshmen of the Year -
Blake Quinn, Fresno State; Sam Haggerty, New Mexico

Coach of the Year -
Ray Birmingham, New Mexico