Lions WR Burleson to Be Honored by Wolf Pack on Saturday

By  | 

RENO, Nev. — Former Wolf Pack star Nate Burleson will attend Saturday’s football game vs. Wyoming to accept his Nevada Athletics Hall of Fame plaque.

An All-America selection for the Wolf Pack in 2002, Burleson will act as an honorary team captain for the pregame coin toss and be recognized for his induction into the Hall of Fame during an on-field presentation during the first quarter at Mackay Stadium.

Currently a wide receiver with the Detroit Lions, Burleson will be unable to attend Nevada’s Hall of Fame Weekend Oct. 19-20 due to the Lions’ game with the Chicago Bears that week.

Burleson starred for the Wolf Pack at wide receiver from 1999-2002. He earned first-team All-WAC honors and won Nevada’s Golden Helmet Award as team MVP in 2002 after setting the school record with 138 receptions. The Wolf Pack’s Offensive Player of the Year in 2000, he ranks third in career receptions with 248 and fourth in career receiving yards with 3,287 and also checks in at third in single-season receiving yards with 1,629 in 2002 and sixth in career receiving touchdowns with 22 in the Nevada record book.

He was drafted in the third round of the 2003 NFL Draft and has gone on to have a standout career in the NFL with Minnesota, Seattle and Detroit. He also founded the Nate Burleson C.A.T.C.H Foundation to reach and teach children and their families by providing them with educational tools to succeed as well as enriching their lives by showing them how to care for others, themselves and their future.

Burleson as well as fellow 2012 Hall of Fame inductees Jennifer Ashcroft (track and field), Tracey King (women’s tennis), Mike Maxwell (football), Don Price (baseball) and Angie Yoon Adams (women’s golf) will be formally inducted into the University of Nevada Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 19 at the Hall of Fame Dinner at the Reno Ballroom. They will also be recognized at halftime of the Hall of Fame game against San Diego State on Saturday, Oct. 20.