November 26, 2014
SAN FRANCISCO (AP) - The San Francisco Giants were caught batting out of order against the Los Angeles Dodgers on Saturday, wiping away Buster Posey's RBI double in the first inning.
Giants manager Bruce Bochy submitted a lineup card that had Posey batting fourth. So after Posey hit third in Pablo Sandoval's spot, Dodgers manager Don Mattingly called out the mistake to umpires.
Posey was ruled out but got to bat again in the fourth spot, ending the inning on a fly out to right field. Posey had batted third in 15 straight games until Friday night.
The Giants had Posey batting third in the clubhouse's digital lineup and on papers passed out in the press box - but not in the official card submitted to the Dodgers and umpires. Bochy had talked before Saturday's game that he wanted to return Posey to the fourth spot after San Francisco's recent struggles.
Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.