Galas Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

By  | 

RENO, Nev. – Nevada senior center Matt Galas has been named to the spring watch list for the Rimington Trophy, the award’s committee announced Tuesday.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s “most outstanding center” at the FBS level. Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

Galas is one of 64 players nationally on the list and one of six from the Mountain West. This is the second straight year he has made the initial watch list. A 6-foot-1, 280-pound senior, Galas has started 24 of the last 25 games for the Wolf Pack.

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The 15-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised nearly $100 million for CF Research. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner: Walter Camp Foundation (WCF); Sporting News (SN); Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 17, 2015.