FIFA Makes 7-Team Draw For Club World Cup

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

ZURICH (AP) - Mexico's Monterrey will play the Asian champion for a chance to face Chelsea at the Club World Cup.

Copa Libertadores champion Corinthians of Brazil is in the other half of the draw.

The tournament, to be played from Dec. 6-16 in Japan, involves six continental champions plus the host country's league winner. Chelsea and Corinthians get byes to the semifinals.

In the quarterfinals, CONCACAF champion Monterrey will play the Asian Champions League winner, which will be decided in November.

The tournament begins with a playoff between Oceania champion Auckland City and the J-League title-holder. The winner advances to a quarterfinal against the African Champions League winner for the right to play Corinthians.

FIFA will use the Club World Cup to test goal-line technology at stadiums in Toyota and Yokohama.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 171005911 -
Gray Television, Inc.