Czyz, Lockett, and Davis Named to NBA Summer League D-League Select Team

By  | 

NEW YORK – The NBA Development League today announced the roster for the 2014 NBA D-League Select Team, which will compete in the Samsung NBA Summer League 2014 in Las Vegas. The 12-man roster, comprised of top prospects from around the NBA D-League, begins its fifth NBA Summer League campaign on Friday July 11, when the squad faces the New Orleans Pelicans at 10:30 p.m. ET at the Thomas & Mack Center on the campus of the University of Nevada – Las Vegas. The team will play at least five games in pursuit of the second Samsung NBA Summer League Championship trophy.

“The NBA Summer League is an exciting time for the NBA D-League, with 12 of the league’s top talents coming together to showcase their impressive skills and unwavering determination on basketball’s biggest summer stage,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “We’re excited to bring this group of players to Las Vegas and look forward to watching the team compete.”

The 2014 select team features players from nine NBA D-League clubs and four players with NBA experience: Josh Akognon (Delaware 87ers), Devin Ebanks (Springfield Armor), Terrel Harris (Bakersfield Jam) and Tony Mitchell (Fort Wayne Mad Ants). Mitchell is one of three members of the 2014 NBA D-League Champion Mad Ants, he is joined on the Select team by Matt Bouldin and 2014 NBA D-League Co-MVP Ron Howard.

Fort Wayne head coach Conner Henry will helm the Select team in Las Vegas following his Championship season with the Mad Ants. Henry will be assisted on the Select Team sidelines by Tunde Adekola (Maine Red Claws), Steve Gansey (Fort Wayne), Sean Rooks (Sioux Falls Skyforce) and Dylan Murphy (Fort Wayne), while Mark Mahoney (Springfield) will serve as the team’s athletic trainer. Henry re-joins the Select Team bench having served as an assistant coach on the squad in 2012.

Mitchell, a 2014 Third-Team All-NBA D-League selection, and his Fort Wayne teammates are three of eight members of the Select Team to have played in the 2014 NBA D-League playoffs, including Olek Czyz (Canton Charge), Bryan Davis (Reno Bighorns), Travis Hyman (Los Angeles D-Fenders), Tre Kelley (Sioux Falls) and Trent Lockett (Reno). The roster is rounded out by Maine’s Damen Bell-Holter.

The NBA D-League Select team returns to Las Vegas on the heels of the NBA D-League’s 13th and most successful season in which an all-time high 62 NBA players were assigned to their NBA D-League affiliates a record 187 times and 37 NBA D-League players earned 49 GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA. An all-time high 33 percent of players (149) on 2013-14 NBA end-of-season rosters have spent time in the NBA D-League during their careers.

NBA Digital will offer live coverage of all 67 Samsung NBA Summer League 2014 games. Fans can watch all of the action from Las Vegas via NBA TV or the NBA Summer League Live subscription package available on and NBA Mobile. All of the NBA D-League Select team’s games will be shown live on NBA Summer League Live

The 2014 NBA Summer League is comprised of 23 NBA teams and the NBA D-League Select squad, and features rookies, second-year players and select free agents.

The 2014 NBA D-League Select roster and game schedule are listed below:

NBA D-League Select Team to Participate in 2014 NBA Summer League


Num. Player Pos. Ht. Wt. Born College NBADL NBA Exp.

1 Josh Akognon G 5-11 175 2/10/86 Cal State – Fullerton Delaware 1

7 Damen Bell-Holter F 6-9 245 4/13/90 Oral Roberts Maine --

6 Matt Bouldin G 6-5 215 1/17/88 Gonzaga Fort Wayne --

9 Olek Czyz F 6-8 240 4/3/90 Nevada Canton --

11 Bryan Davis C 6-9 250 12/31/86 Texas A&M Reno --

10 Devin Ebanks F 6-9 215 10/28/89 West Virginia Springfield 3

3 Terrel Harris G 6-5 190 8/10/87 Oklahoma State Bakersfield 2

4 Ron Howard G 6-4 185 11/14/82 Valparaiso Fort Wayne --

12 Travis Hyman C 7-0 245 7/12/87 Bowie State Los Angeles --

2 Tre Kelley G 6-0 188 1/23/85 South Carolina Sioux Falls --

5 Trent Lockett F 6-5 210 12/10/90 Marquette Reno --

8 Tony Mitchell F 6-6 215 8/7/89 Alabama Fort Wayne 1

Head Coach: Conner Henry (Fort Wayne)

Assistant Coaches: Steve Gansey (Fort Wayne), Sean Rooks (Sioux Falls), Tunde Adekola (Maine),

Dylan Murphy (Fort Wayne)

Athletic Trainer: Mark Mahoney (Springfield)

NBA D-League Select Schedule (all times ET):


July 11 New Orleans 10:30pm Thomas and Mack

July 13 Atlanta 6:30pm Thomas and Mack

July 14 Sacramento 4:30pm Thomas and Mack