Chase Tenpenny Nominee for Ray Guy Award

By  | 

Augusta, GA - The Augusta Sports Council has announced the nominees for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. Among the 85 candidates are 2012 finalist, Kyle Christy of Florida, and 2011 finalist, Steven Clark of Auburn. Candidates were nominated for the award by their school’s sports information department.

The list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists to be announced on November 8. Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on November 25. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 12 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

2013 Ray Guy Award Candidates

Zach Paul, Akron
Cody Mandell, Alabama
Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas
Steven Clark, Auburn
Spencer Roth, Baylor
Nate Freese, Boston College
Brian Schmiedebusch, Bowling Green State University
Scott Arellano, BYU
Cole Leininger, California
Richard Hogan, Central Michigan
Darragh O’Neill, Colorado
Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
Cole Wagner, Connecticut
Will Monday, Duke
Trent Tignor, East Carolina
Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan
Kyle Christy, Florida
Cason Beatty, Florida State
Sean Poole, Georgia Tech
Richie Leone, Houston
Austin Rehkow, Idaho
Justin DuVervois, Illinois
Connor Kornbrath, Iowa
Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State
Trevor Pardula, Kansas
Mark Krause, Kansas State
Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
Landon Foster, Kentucky
Justin Manton, Louisiana-Monroe
Logan McPherson, Louisiana Tech
Ryan Johnson, Louisville
Tyler Williams, Marshall
Nathan Renfro, Maryland
Tom Hornsey, Memphis
Pat O’Donnell, Miami (FL)
Zac Murphy, Miami (OH)
Mike Sadler, Michigan State
Josh Davis, Middle Tennessee
Peter Mortell, Minnesota
Baker Swedenburg, Mississippi State
Christian Brinser, Missouri
Pablo Beltran, Navy
Sam Foltz, Nebraska
Chase Tenpenny, Nevada
Ben Skaer, New Mexico
Cayle Chapman-Brown, New Mexico State
Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina
Tyler Wedel, Northern Illinois
Kyle Brindza, Notre Dame
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
Jed Barnett, Oklahoma
Kip Smith, Oklahoma State
Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss
Alejandro Maldonado, Oregon
Keith Kostol, Oregon State
Matt Yoklic, Pittsburgh
Cody Webster, Purdue
Nick Marsh, Rutgers
Jamie McConeghy, San Diego State
Mike Loftus, SMU
Ben Rhyne, Stanford
Riley Dixon, Syracuse
Ethan Perry, TCU
Paul Layton, Temple
Michael Palardy, Tennessee
Anthony Fera, Texas
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
Will Johnson, Texas State
Zach Robinson, Texas State
Ryan Erxleben, Texas Tech
Vince Penza, Toledo
Will Scott, Troy
Peter Picerelli, Tulane
Hunter Mullins, UAB
Caleb Houston, UCF
Logan Yunker, UNLV
Kris Albarado, USC
Tom Hackett, Utah
Taylor Hudston, Vanderbilt
Alec Vozenilek, Virginia
A.J. Hughes Virginia Tech
Nicholas O’Toole, West Virginia
Hendrix Brakefield, Western Kentucky
Justin Schroeder, Western Michigan
Drew Meyer, Wisconsin

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hal of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardag punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success. Learn more about the Ray Guy Award at

The Augusta Sports Council is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit

The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.