Castroneves, Franchitti Chase 4th Indy 500 Win

By  | 

NEW YORK (AP) - Helio Castroneves hopes a new generation of fans gets to see a four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500.

It's been 22 years since the last driver won his fourth Indy 500 title. Now Castroneves and Dario Franchitti are trying to join the exclusive club at Sunday's race.

Rick Mears, who won his fourth in 1991, A.J. Foyt and Al Unser are the only three drivers with four victories.

Franchitti won his third last year, and this will be the first time since 1987 that two three-time winners will start the Indy 500. Scotland's Franchitti or Brazil's Castroneves would be the first foreign-born four-time winner.

Castroneves said Monday this is an "incredible opportunity for the fans to have not only one but two guys trying to make history."