Nevada's Ratnavira, Allen Named All-WAC Second Team

By  | 

BOISE, Idaho – Sophomores Natalie Ratnavira and Annabelle Allen were named to the All-WAC second team as voted on by the league coaches. This is the first career honor for both Ratnavira and Allen.

Ratnavira, a forward from Fallbrook, Calif., is the team leader in goals (5), game-winning goals (3) and points (11). She has recorded five goals and one assist this season. She is also the team leader in shots with 24. She has played in 14 games this year with 12 starts. In WAC play she started all nine games and recorded four goals and one assist.

Allen, a defender from Littleton, Colo., started and played in all 19 games this season and recorded three goals on the year including going 2-for-2 in penalty kick attempts. In WAC play, she scored one goal and recorded five shots. She has helped Nevada post five shutouts this season including three in WAC play.

Fourth-seeded Nevada will open WAC Tournament play tomorrow at 11:30 a.m. PT against #5 New Mexico State in the quarterfinals. The winner will play #1 San Jose State on Friday at 11:30 a.m. in the semifinals. The final will be played on Sunday at Noon PT. The tournament is hosted by Boise State.

Live stats and streaming video information can be found at the following link:

First Team All-WAC
Emmy Belding, F, Sr., San Jose State
Shantel Flanary, F, So., Utah State
Roxy Kamal, F, Sr., San Jose State
Chelsea Small, F, Fr., Idaho
Hallsie Pacheco, MF, Sr., San Jose State
Mari Punzal, MF, Jr., Hawai'i
Chandra Salmon, MF, So., Utah State
Jessica Ingram, D, So., San Jose State
Lindsay Roberts, D, So., Boise State
Lindsey Smart, D, Sr., Utah State
Katie Graul, GK, Sr., New Mexico State

Second Team All-WAC
Natalie Ratnavira, F, So., Nevada
Shannon Saxton, F, Jr., Boise State
Ambree Ako, F, Sr., Hawai'i
Britta Bourne, F, Sr., Hawai'i
Brandy Hickcox, MF, So., Boise State
Molly Nizzoli, MF, So., Fresno State
Jazmin Cardoso, MF, Fr., New Mexico State
Kendall VanDine, D, So., Fresno State
Vanessa Gonzales, D, Fr., Fresno State
Annabelle Allen, D, So., Nevada
Nina Butera, GK, Jr., San Jose State

Offensive Player of the Year: Shantel Flanary, So., F, Utah State Defensive Player of the Year: Jessica Ingram, So., D, San Jose State Freshman of the Year: Chelsea Small, Fr., F, Idaho Coach of the Year: Jeff Leightman, San Jose State