Phoenix Wins WNBA Championship

PHOENIX (AP) - The Phoenix Mercury are WNBA champions for the
second time in three seasons, leaning on their `big three' to pull
out a 94-86 victory over the tenacious Indiana Fever in the
deciding Game 5 Friday night.

League MVP Diana Taurasi scored 26 points, Cappie Pondexter 24,
and Penny Taylor sank two crucial free throws with 37.7 seconds
left as the Mercury held off a late rally to win the intense series

Tammy Sutton-Brown scored 22 points, and Jessica Davenport had a
career-high 18 for Indiana in its first finals appearance. Temeka
Catchings added 16 points and nine rebounds for the Fever.