Pack RB Ball, LB Moch Named National Performers Of The Week

By  | 

(PRWEB) October 5, 2009 - The College Football Performance Awards recently announced its Performers of the Week for week 5. Nevada running back Mike Ball and UTEP running back Donald Buckram were the National Performers of the Week. In a strong week for running backs, in general, a host of other running backs were recognized as Honorable Mention for their performances.

Week 5, 2009 - Performers of the Week:

National Performer of the Week - Mike Ball (Nevada) & Donald Buckram (UTEP)

Defensive Performer of the Week - Demetrius Hartsfield (Maryland) & Dontay Moch (Nevada)

Quarterback Performer of the Week - Aaron Opelt (Toledo) & Case Keenum (Houston)

Honorable Mention: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame)

Running Back Performer of the Week - Mike Ball (Nevada) & Donald Buckram (UTEP)

Honorable Mention: Frank Goodin (Louisiana-Monroe), Noel Devine (West Virginia), Montel Harris (Boston College), Daniel Porter (Louisiana Tech), John Clay (Wisconsin), Jacob Ramsey (Cincinnati), Mark Ingram (Alabama), Bernard Pierce (Temple), Joe McKnight (USC), Chad Spann (Northern Illinois)

Wide Receiver Performer of the Week - Stephen Williams (Toledo) & Golden Tate (Notre Dame)

Honorable Mention: Mike Williams (Syracuse), Demaryius Thomas (Georgia Tech), Shay Hodge (Ole Miss), James Cleveland (Houston), Duke Calhoun (Memphis), Marvin McNutt (Iowa), Carlton Mitchell (USF)

Tight End Performer of the Week - Dennis Pitta (BYU) & Ed Dickson (Oregon)

Honorable Mention: Riar Geer (Colorado), Dorin Dickerson (Pittsburgh), Cody Slate (Marshall), Kyle Rudolph (Notre Dame), Garrett Graham (Wisconsin)

Placekicker Performer of the Week - Nick Tausch (Notre Dame)
Honorable Mention: Josh Zahn (UAB), Will Snyderwine (Duke), Robert Randolph (Virginia), Ian McGarvey (Ball State), Stefan Demos (Northwestern), Lones Seiber (Kentucky), Kai Forbath (UCLA), Erik Folk (Washington), Nick Cattoi (UCF), Joe Buckley (Navy), Jordan Congdon (USC), Jerry Phillips (Bowling Green)

Kickoff Specialist Performer of the Week - Jeff Locke (UCLA)
Honorable Mention: Nate Whitaker (Stanford)

Punter Performer of the Week - Ryan Tydlacka (Kentucky) & Derek Epperson (Baylor)
Honorable Mention: Jeff Locke (UCLA), Jeremy Boone (Penn State), Drew Butler (Georgia), Tress Way (Oklahoma), Matt Rinehart (Kent State), Mike Brandtner (Iowa State)

Punt Returner Performer of the Week - Jeremy Kerley (TCU), Damian Williams (USC), LaVon Brazill (Ohio)
Honorable Mention: Freddie Barnes (Bowling Green), James Rodgers (Oregon State)

Kickoff Returner Performer of the Week - C.J. Spiller (Clemson) & Leon Berry (Mississippi State)
Honorable Mention: T.Y. Hilton (FIU)
Defensive Lineman Performer of the Week - Dontay Moch (Nevada)
Honorable Mention: Alex Daniels (Cincinnati), Jerry Hughes (TCU), Pernell McPhee (Mississippi State), Greg Romeus (Pittsburgh), O' Brien Schofield (Wisconsin), Robert Quinn (UNC), Jason Pierre-Paul (USF), Dak Notestine (Ohio), Jeremy Beal (Oklahoma)
Linebacker Performer of the Week - Demetrius Hartsfield (Maryland)
Honorable Mention: Kaipo Sarkissian (Tulsa), Rennie Curran (Georgia), Scott Bryant (FIU), Jeremy Chambliss (East Carolina), Nick Johnson (East Carolina)
Defensive Back Performer of the Week - Hiram Atwater (UAB) & Nate Allen (USF)
Honorable Mention: Tyler Sash (Iowa), Barry Church (Toledo)
About the College Football Performance Awards:
The goal of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.
As many scholars have noted, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate the college football awards process. Harvard Society Fellow Andrew Zimbalist writes, "By employing a careful, vetted empirical methodology, CFPA promises to set straight many of the wrongheaded, arbitrary, and exclusionary methods currently employed to assess player awards in Division I FBS football." Former Science Advisor to President Barack Obama, Lawrence Krauss states, "CFPA may improve the scientific literacy of generations of fans." While Runner-up Science Author of the Year Amy Langville adds, "A rigorous scientific methodology like CFPA is a welcome addition for fans and players demanding equity in sports awards."
Statement from Executive Director:
"CFPA has truly become a catalyst for rational discourse, as well as the vanguard of a new zeitgeist of objectivity and fairness in college football," states Executive Director Brad Smith. "The thousands of enthusiastic letters, e-mails, and phone calls that CFPA has received from journalists, fans, coaches, players, administrators, and scholars vindicate the importance of CFPA's mission. CFPA respects the storied tradition of college football but may also be uniquely positioned to eliminate the political elements to college football that have proved disastrous to the integrity of the game."
Assistant Director Appointed:
The College Football Performance Awards recently appointed its Assistant Director - Harold Alvin Smith, MD. Smith graduated from Duke Medical School in 1970 and is a Fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians. Executive Director Brad Smith states, "We believe that Dr. Smith is well positioned for success in this capacity given his extraordinary background in the sciences."
Official Website:
For more information on the College Football Performance Awards, please contact Executive Director Brad Smith at (570) 854-1252 or visit