Kaepernick Named to O'Brien Watch List

By  | 

Nevada junior quarterback Colin Kaepernick has been named to the watch list for the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. See below for the official press release from the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee.

Here is a statement from Colin Kaepernick:

"This is a great honor for my name to be included with some of the top players in college football and I share this honor with my teammates," Kaepernick said. "We're looking forward to opening fall camp this week and getting ready for the season."

The Davey O'Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee are pleased to announce the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List.

The 2009 list highlights 33 quarterbacks who will compete for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback; however, all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) starting quarterbacks are equal candidates at this time. Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of The O'Brien Selection Committee. The list focuses on a select group of quarterbacks who have demonstrated what members of the Selection Committee have recognized as tremendous preseason talent. The award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

The O'Brien will follow performances of all FBS quarterbacks until Semifinalists are selected in late October. Semifinalists will be announced October 26; Finalists November 23; and the Winner December 10. During all rounds of voting, The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Today marked the first time in the award's history the Watch List was announced on ESPN's College Football Live. The 2009 O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2009 O'Brien Watch List:

Sam Bradford - Oklahoma
Jarrett Brown - West Virginia
Daryll Clark - Penn State
Jimmy Clausen - Notre Dame
Aaron Corp - USC
Robert Griffin - Baylor
Matt Grothe - South Florida
Max Hall - BYU
Tim Hiller - Western Michigan
Jordan Jefferson - LSU
Colin Kaepernick - Nevada
Case Keenum - Houston
Dan LeFevour - Central Michigan
Jake Locker - Washington
Ryan Mallett - Arkansas
Jeremiah Masoli - Oregon
Colt McCoy - Texas
Kellen Moore - Boise State
Josh Nesbitt - Georgia Tech
Tony Pike - Cincinnati
Taylor Potts - Texas Tech
Terrelle Pryor - Ohio State
Todd Reesing - Kansas
Kevin Riley - California
Zac Robinson - Oklahoma State
Riley Skinner - Wake Forest
Rusty Smith - Florida Atlantic
Jevan Snead - Ole Miss
Tyrod Taylor - Virginia Tech
Tim Tebow - Florida
Adam Weber - Minnesota
Juice Williams - Illinois
Russell Wilson - North Carolina State

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. Founded in 1981, The O'Brien seeks to honor candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas. Honorees are voted on by a national selection committee comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $790,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org.