Kaepernick Voted Preseason WAC Player Of The Year

By  | 

Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick was voted the Offensive Player of the Year, while Boise State cornerback Kyle Wilson was picked as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Kaepernick, a junior from Turlock, Calif. (Pittman HS), became the fifth quarterback in NCAA FBS history to throw for more than 2,000 yards and rush for more than 1,000 yards in the same season. Kaepernick threw for 2,849 yards and 22 touchdowns last year and added 1,130 yards and 17 touchdowns on the ground. He was named the 2008 WAC Offensive Player of the Year following his 2007 season where he was voted the WAC Freshman of the Year.

Wilson, a senior from Piscataway, N.J. (Piscataway HS), was a first-team all-WAC performer last year after leading the Broncos with five interceptions. He had a total of 15 passes defended and 35 tackles in 2008. As a punt returner, Wilson also was named second-team all-WAC after averaging 14.2 yards per return and scoring three touchdowns. Media Poll Rank Team (1st place votes) Points
1. Boise State (25) 519
2. Nevada 444
3. Fresno State (20) 365
4. Louisiana Tech 360
5. Hawai‘i 275
6. San Jose State 263
7. Utah State 170
8. Idaho 110
9. New Mexico State 104