Martin Wins 4th Pole Of Season

By  | 

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Mark Martin has won the pole at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, edging Juan Pablo Montoya for the top starting spot in Sunday's race.

Martin posted a lap at 182.054 mph on Saturday to earn his fourth pole of the season.

Montoya, the 2000 Indianapolis 500 winner, is second at 180.803.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. qualified third despite a stomach virus that has Brad Keselowski on standby in case Earnhardt is too ill to race.

Bill Elliott, the 2002 winner at The Brickyard, qualified fourth. David Reutimann rounded out the top five.

Sterling Marlin, Max Papis and Derrike Cope failed to qualify.