Whittell Athlete Given Gene Upshaw Scholarship

(Stateline, Nev.) – The American Century Championship has announced an inaugural Gene Upshaw Scholarship Award to honor the memory of the NFL Hall of Famer and longtime NFLPA Executive Director. The $2,000 scholarship will be presented to Nick Warner, student body president and football player at Whittell High School by Terri Upshaw, Gene’s widow, on behalf of NBC Sports and Edgewood Tahoe.

The Gene Upshaw Scholarship Award recognizes attributes found within Lake Tahoe area students reflecting leadership and excellence in sports and academics.

“This is a dynamic, relevant way to memorialize Gene,” offered Mrs. Upshaw. “I look forward to meeting Nick and future scholarship recipients. Leadership was one of Gene’s greatest attributes and this is a tangible way to help deserving students reach their goals.”

The award will be presented each year in conjunction with the annual celebrity golf tournament that comes to Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course each summer. Upshaw was a popular participant in the tournament and an admired member of the Lake Tahoe community, spending time with his family at their home in North Lake Tahoe.

The scholarship presentation will take place on Friday, July 17, at the tournament media room at Edgewood Tahoe. Warner is known for his tenacious hustle on the field and as a responsible, thoughtful young man off.

Gene Upshaw (1945-2008) played for the Oakland Raiders and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1987. He was the executive director of the National Football League Players’ Association until his passing last year. He led the charge through many controversial topics within the NFLPA and was revered for his honesty, hard work and concern for the well being of fellow players.

Now in its 20th year, the American Century Championship has raised over $3 million for local and national charities since its inception in 1990. The combination of two decades of memories plus sports and entertainment superstars including Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley, Tony Romo, Ray Romano, Mario Lemieux, Dale Jarrett, Dan Marino, John Elway and Jerry Rice, has made it network television’s longest running celebrity golf tournament.