'Dream Team' Headline 2009 USOC Hall of Fame

By  | 

NORTHBROOK, Ill. (AP) - The Dream Team has earned a spot in the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame.

The star-studded team that featured Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird and Charles Barkley and won the gold medal in Barcelona headlines this year's class of 10 inductees. The class, which will be formally announced Wednesday morning, will be inducted Aug. 12 in Chicago.

Joining the Dream Team are Michael Johnson, the only man to win gold in the 200 and 400 meters at the same Olympics; Picabo Street (skiing); Teresa Edwards (basketball); Mary T. Meagher (swimming); and Willye White (athletics). Skiier Sarah Will is the Paralympic inductee.

Former USOC chairman Peter Ueberroth, gymnastics coach Abie
Grossfeld and skier Andrea Mead-Lawrence also are being inducted.

The hall is presented by Allstate.