Castroneves Wins Again

Helio Castroneves, of Brazil, smiles as he answers a question at a press conference in preparation for the 93rd running of the Indianapolis 500 auto race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Thursday, May 21, 2009. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)
By  | 

FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) - Helio Castroneves is now a three-time Texas winner, too.

Castroneves, who last month won his third Indianapolis 500, beat Penske teammate Ryan Briscoe off pit row on the final stop and held on for the final 46 laps Saturday night to win at Texas Motor Speedway.

Briscoe was dominating the race, with more than a 10-second lead before a caution flag on the 150th of the 228 laps bunched the field after an extended stretch of green-flag racing.

Castroneves worked past Marco Andretti after that restart and was on the tail of his teammate when A.J. Foyt IV crashed 15 laps later.

When everybody went into the pits for the final time,
Castroneves had a 6-second stop, beating Briscoe and Scott Dixon
out by more than a half-second. Castroneves' winning margin was
0.39 seconds.