McEvoy Wins World Series Poker Tourney

By: AP Email
By: AP Email

LAS VEGAS (AP) - Tom McEvoy has been crowned the champion of
champions at the World Series of Poker after beating previous main event winners in a special tournament.

McEvoy won the title early Tuesday after a two-day tournament that started with 20 former winners of poker's richest event. The field included Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan and 11-time gold bracelet winner Phil Hellmuth.

McEvoy won the no-limit Texas Hold 'em main event in 1983, earning $540,000. He has won four tournaments at the series, most recently at a limit Omaha tournament in 1992.

McEvoy did not win a gold bracelet for the event created for the series' 40th anniversary. Instead he took home a restored 1970 Chevrolet Corvette worth $50,000 and the "Binion Cup," named for the series' founders.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 46762812 -
Gray Television, Inc.