Northwestern Wins 5th Straight Lacrosse Title

By  | 

TOWSON, Md. (AP) - Northwestern won its fifth straight NCAA championship in women's Division I lacrosse with a 21-7 victory over North Carolina on Sunday.

Hilary Bowen scored five goals, and Katrina Dowd and Danielle Spencer had four apiece to lead the Wildcats in the game at Towson

Northwestern (23-0) broke the record for goals in the title game and has won 20 consecutive tournament games, one shy of the record set by Maryland from 1995 to 2002.

Hannah Nielsen added six assists to give her a record 16 in the tournament. Northwestern trailed only once the entire tournament.

Jenn Russell had two goals for North Carolina (16-5), which was
making its first appearance in the title game.