C.W. Post Wins D-II Lacrosse Title

By  | 

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. (AP) - C.W. Post held off a furious rally to beat Lemoyne 8-7 for the NCAA men's Division II lacrosse championship on Sunday.

Greg Cerar scored four second-half goals for C.W. Post and goalie Dan Sciulla made 13 saves, seven in the fourth quarter, to give the Pioneers (15-1) their second NCAA lacrosse title. They won their first in 1996.

The Dolphins (16-1) were making their fourth straight trip to the Division II final, having won it all in 2004, 2006 and 2007.

The game at Gillette Stadium mirrored LeMoyne's 6-5 win over C.W. Post in the regular season.

The Pioneers took an early lead before Lemoyne battled back. Jack Harmatuk's third goal made it 8-7 with 1:10 left, but the Dolphins couldn't get another shot past Sciulla.