Nevada Track & Field in 5th Place at Cal-Nevada Championships

By  | 

Three distance runners posted personal bests and moved onto Nevada’s career top-10 list on the first day of the Cal-Nevada Championships hosted by UCLA at Drake Stadium.

As a team, Nevada is in fifth place out of 22 teams with 21 points after the first day of competition. UCLA leads with 68.50 points.

Amanda Moreno finished fourth overall in the finals of the 5000m run with a PR time of 16:57.93. Her time is third on Nevada’s all-time list and she beat her previous PR of 17.17.87 set in 2007.

Christa Avena finished fourth overall in the finals of the 3000m steeplechase with a PR time of 10:47.21, good for third on Nevada’s all-time list. Tiffany Tandy also set a PR in the 3000m steeplechase finals with a fifth-place finish and a time of 10:50.98 which is 8th all-time.

Polly Smith and Katie Avena both posted top-10 finished in the 800m run and qualified for tomorrow’s finals. Smith finished first in her heat and fourth overall in the prelims with a time of 2:15.15 while Avena finished third in her heat and sixth in the prelims with a time of 2:14.37. Smith also finished second in her heat and sixth overall in the prelims of the 400m hurdles (61.89) and qualified for the finals.

Analisa Serrano took second in her heat and seventh in the prelims of the 100m hurdles with a time of 14.13 to qualify for tomorrow’s finals.

Constance McAlman took seventh in the hammer throw with a throw of 54.12m (177-07).

Just over 30 teams are competing in this year’s Cal-Nevada Championships including: CalTech; Cal Poly Pomona; Cal Poly San Luis Obispo; Cal State Bakersfield; Cal State Dominguez Hills; Cal State Fullerton; Cal State Los Angeles; Cal State Northridge; Cal State San Marcos; Cal State Stanislaus; Chapman, Claremont-Mudd; Fresno State; Long Beach State; Loyola Marymount; Masters; Nevada; Occidental; Pepperdine; Pomona Pitzer; Sacramento State; San Diego State; Soka; UC Davis; UC Irvine; UCLA; UC San Diego; UC Santa Barbara; UNLV; USC; U. of San Francisco; Westmont and Whittier.

Competition will conclude on Sunday.