20 Teams to Compete in Tour de France

By  | 

Tour de France organizers say 20 teams will compete at this year's cycling race, with the former Saunier Duval-Scott team excluded from the event.

The Spanish team now called Fuji-Servetto quit the 2008 Tour
when rider Riccardo Ricco tested positive for the blood-booster
CERA after winning two stages. The team was also excluded from the
recent Paris-Nice race.

The 20 teams competing will have a total of 180 riders for the
96th edition of the Tour, which starts July 4 in the principality
of Monaco.

Seven-time Tour champion Lance Armstrong is returning to the
race with the Astana team in a comeback after 3½ years of