Australia Makes Bid to Host World Cup

By  | 

Australia has formally submitted its bid to host the 2018 or 2022 World Cup.

Football Federation Australia, after announcing its intention to
bid last month, confirmed Monday it lodged its formal bid with
FIFA. The deadline was Monday.

On the weekend, Indonesia and South Korea submitted their formal
bids. The other countries announcing intentions to bid were Japan,
England, Russia, Qatar, Mexico and the United States.

The FIFA executive will vote on both hosts in December 2010.

South Africa will host next year's World Cup and Brazil will
host in 2014.