NFL Players Union Names Upshaw's Replacement

By  | 

DeMaurice Smith is the new executive director of the NFL Players Association, succeeding the late Gene Upshaw.

Smith was elected Sunday as the union's fourth leader in its
41-year history, and succeeds Upshaw, who died in August. The NFL
outsider has served as an attorney in Washington.

Smith was elected by a vote behind closed doors at the posh
Fairmont Kea Lani resort where the union has been meeting. The
players reps heard from the four candidates Saturday and once again
Sunday, with the candidates providing their closing arguments
before the voting began by secret ballot.

They reps emerged with their selection 90 minutes.

The vote was tabulated and verified by accounting firm KMH LLP
of Honolulu.