Iditarod Starts Again

By  | 

The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race has begun with 67 teams entered in this year's 1,100-mile race from Anchorage to Nome.

The restart, where the real racing begins, was held Sunday in
Willow, about 50 miles from Anchorage, one day after the ceremonial
start in Alaska's largest city.

The 2009 field contains 52 veterans and 15 rookies.

Two-time defending champion Lance Mackey is looking for his
third consecutive win. He will have to go up against the likes of
four-time winners Jeff King and Martin Buser, who are trying to
match Rick Swenson's record five titles.

King finished second last year, while Buser was fifth.

Mitch Seavey, who won in 2004, will be looking for his second