St. Pierre Dominates at UFC 94

By  | 

Welterweight champion Georges St. Pierre dominated lightweight champion B.J. Penn at UFC 94 on Saturday night, forcing a doctor to stop the fight before the fifth round in a marquee showdown between two of the sport's top fighters.

The 27-year-old St. Pierre, who won a split decision when the
two met at UFC 58 in March 2006, was leading heavily on all three
scorecards when referee Herb Dean stopped the bout on the advice of
ringside doctors. Penn's corner agreed with the decision.

"Last time I fought him I won in a decision," St. Pierre said.
"This time I really wanted to take him out, and I'm glad I did."

In the co-feature, Lyoto Machida knocked out Thiago Silva with a
second left in the first round to win a matchup of undefeated light

There was no doubt what drew a cheering crowd to the MGM Grand
Garden, though.

St. Pierre was all over Penn from the outset, pressing him
against the fence for most of the first round and taking him down
almost at will throughout the next three rounds.

The Canadian fighter wound up on top of Penn in the fourth round
and kept dropping elbows and landing punches. Dean nearly stopped
the fight as Penn kept absorbing the damage, but the Hawaiian
fighter managed to make it to the end of the round.

When asked who he wants to fight next, St. Pierre replied: "I'm
a world champion and a proud champion. So I want to fight the

Earlier in the night, Machida floored Silva multiple times in
the first round before landing a devastating shot that ended the

The victory places Machida near the top of the talent-laden
light heavyweight division. Asked who he wanted to fight next,
Machida turned to the crowd and said, "People, do I deserve a
title shot?" The crowd responded with cheering approval.

In the undercard fights, Jon Jones won by unanimous decision
over Stephan Bonner; Karo Parisyan earned a split decision victory
over Dong Hyun Kim; and Clay Guida defeated Nate Diaz by split

In the preliminary bouts, Jon Fitch won by unanimous decision
over Akihiro Gono; Thiago Tavares defeated Manvel Gamburyan by
unanimous decision; and John Howard beat Chris Wilson by split
decision. Jake O'Brien defeated Christian Wellisch by split
decision and Dan Cramer won by split decision over Matt Arroyo.