Reno's Meeking on All-Showcase Team

By  | 

Will Conroy of the Albuquerque Thunderbirds and Coby Karl of the Idaho Stampede highlight the 2009 NBA D-League All-Showcase teams, which were announced today. The All-Showcase teams were selected by a panel of NBA and NBA D-League coaches and front office staff members who were among more than 60 NBA general managers and scouts representing all 30 NBA teams at the four-day, 16-game event at the McKay Events Center in Orem, Utah, home of the Utah Flash.

Joining Conroy and Karl on the NBA D-League All-Showcase First Team are Trey Johnson of the Bakersfield Jam, Antonio Meeking of the Reno Bighorns and Courtney Sims of the Iowa Energy. Conroy, the NBA D-League’s leading scorer and the NBA D-League Performer of the Week for games played Jan. 5 – Jan. 9, led the Thunderbirds to two Showcase wins, averaging 25.0 points, 7.0 assists and 5.5 rebounds. Karl averaged 25.0 points, 8.5 assists and 5.5 rebounds while leading the Stampede to two wins. Johnson averaged 30.0 points, 6.0 assists and 2.0 rebounds as the Jam went 2-0. Meeking, who led the Bighorns to two wins, averaged 24.0 points and 10.5 rebound. Sims, averaged 12.5 points and 12.0 rebounds as the Energy went 1-1.

The NBA D-League All-Showcase Second Team features Dontell Jefferson of the Utah Flash, James White of the Anaheim Arsenal, Cartier Martin of the Iowa Energy, Ronald Dupree of the Tulsa 66ers, and Malik Hairston, playing for the Austin Toros while on assignment from the San Antonio Spurs.

An additional 19 players earned Honorable Mention accolades for their performances last week including: Alex Acker (Fort Wayne), Blake Ahearn (Dakota), Tierre Brown (Anaheim), Erik Daniels (Erie), Josh Davis (Colorado), Carl Elliott (Sioux Falls), Kyrylo Fesenko (Utah, on assignment from the Utah Jazz), Gary Forbes (Sioux Falls), Charles Gaines (Austin), J.R. Giddens (Utah, on assignment from the Boston Celtics), Richard Hendrix (Dakota), Chris Hunter (Fort Wayne), (Othyus Jeffers (Iowa), Nick Lewis (Bakersfield), Glen McGowan (Sioux Falls), Keith McLeod (Albuquerque), Brent Petway (Idaho) and Bill Walker (Utah on assignment from the Boston Celtics).