Sports Caravan Awards

By  | 

The State Champion McQueen Lancers dominated the Sports Caravan Awards Show. Two players picked up major awards, while the team as a whole won the Team of the Year award.

Kyle Van Noy was named the Stud of the Year. The Lancers WR caught 35 passes for 731 yards and 13 TD's. He also scored a rushing TD. He was even more dominant on defense, racking up 55 solo tackles with 14 sacks and 7 forced fumbles. He also scored four defensive touchdowns. Van Noy was named the Northern Defensive Player of the Year by the area coaches.

His McQueen teammate Tyler York was named the Sports Caravan Iron Man. York ran for over 18 hundred yards and 32 TD's (including the playoffs.) He also had 62 tackles and 6 sacks on defense. York was the Northern Player of the Year.

Duke Williams broke up the Lancers dominance. The Hug QB/DB was named the Sports Caravan Playmaker of the Year. Duke played pretty much every snap, leading the Hawks to an 8-2 record and a berth in the playoffs. He was the Northern 4A Offensive Player of the Year and was First Team All-Region on defense.

The Coach of the Year went to Tony Amantia of Damonte Ranch. The Mustangs made the playoffs for the first time in school history, and upset the favored Hug Hawks on the road in the first round. This comes just three years after they had to cancel their season due to lack of players.

The Team of the Year was the 14-0 McQueen Lancers. They won the State Championship; their sixth in school history. They have also now won 23 straight games against Northern 4A schools. Another great job done by coach Ken Dalton.

Stud of the Year: Kyle Van Noy WR/DE (McQueen)

Iron Man: Tyler York RB/DB (McQueen)
Nominees: Mike LaGrone TE/DE (McQueen)
Richie Hernandez RB/DB (Sp. Springs)
Casey Yocum WR/LB (Reed)
Bryce Baker QB/DB (Fernley)

Playmaker of the Year: Duke Williams QB/DB (Hug)
Nominees: Steven Nelms RB (Elko)
Josh Dupree RB (Bishop Manogue)
Anthony Martinez RB/PK (McQueen)
Ryan MacKen RB/LB (Truckee)
Mike Kendricks RB (Fernley)
Roberto Concha-Foley QB (Whittell)
Dylan Bloyed QB (Lovelock)
Tim Rudnick QB (Douglas)
Trent DeBraga WR/DB (Fallon)
Jarrod Faust RB (Galena)

Coach of the Tear: Tony Amantia (Damonte Ranch)
Nominees: Ken Dalton (McQueen)
Dave Atherton (Whittell)
Bob Shaffer (Truckee)
Paul Mills (Bishop Manogue)

Team of the Year: McQueen (14-0)
Nominees: Truckee (9-3)
Whittell (6-3)
Lovelock (11-1)
Damonte Ranch (7-4)