Baldwin Named To Preseason All-WAC Team

By  | 

The WAC Preseason all-WAC volleyball team was announced today as voted on by the nine coaches. Hawai‘i All-American Jamie Houston was named WAC Preseason Player of the Year. This is the fourth-straight season that a Rainbow Wahine player earned the preseason honor with former Hawai‘i All-American Kanoe Kamana`o earning the honor in 2005 and 2006. This is Houston’s second-straight honor. She is also the reigning WAC Player of the Year.

New Mexico State placed the most on the 12-player team with four. Along with seniors Krystal Torres and Amber Simpson, juniors Krista Altermatt and Lindsey Yon earned preseason honors. Simpson, Yon and Torres were all first-team all-WAC selections in 2007.

Two Hawai‘i players joined Houston on the preseason team, juniors Aneli Cubi-Otineru and Amber Kaufman. Both Houston and Cubi-Otineru were first team all-WAC selections last season. San Jose State also had two players make the team with seniors Niki Clement and Colleen Burke earning nods.

Chelsea Fowles of Utah State, the 2007 WAC Freshman of the Year, and Idaho’s Haley Larsen both were named to the team. Nevada sophomore Lindsay Baldwin rounded out the preseason squad. Six teams placed at least one player on the preseason all-WAC. Eight players are returning first-team all-WAC honorees.

2008 Preseason All-WAC Team
Krista Altermatt, Jr., New Mexico State
Lindsay Baldwin, So., Nevada
Colleen Burke, Sr., San Jose State
Niki Clement, Sr., San Jose State
Aneli Cubi-Ontineru, Jr., Hawai‘i
Chelsea Fowles, So., Utah State
Jamie Houston, Sr., Hawai‘i
Amber Kaufman, Jr., Hawai‘i
Haley Larsen, Sr., Idaho
Amber Simpson, Sr., New Mexico State
Krystal Torres, Sr., New Mexico State
Lindsey Yon, Jr., New Mexico State

Preseason Player of the Year: Jamie Houston, Hawai‘i