September 2, 2015
ELKO, Nev. (AP) - The Nevada Highway Patrol has issued more than 4,500 citations to drivers using cellphones this year under a new state law.
The Elko Daily Free Press reported the numbers Friday from the Nevada Department of Transportation. The law banning the use of cellphones while behind the wheel took effect January 1.
Fines for the offenses range from $72 for the first citation to up to $250 for subsequent tickets.
NDOT spokeswoman Meg Ragonese says at least seven deaths in the state last year happened as a result of distracted driving.
Copyright 2015 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.