October 25, 2014
Vegetarians are "bugging" out about a change in ingredients by Starbucks, specifically related to its Strawberries and Creme Frappuccino.
And chances are, you might bug out too, when you hear why...
In an effort to avoid artificial additives in its drinks, Starbucks confirms it is using a natural red dye, made from dried, crushed cochineal beetles!
Before you get grossed out, you should know that cochineal is a common additive, considered safe by the F-D-A, and you've probably been eating it for years in items like jams, meats, marinades, cookies and other baked products.
The F.D.A. says it does have to be listed by name on the ingredients list.
But vegans--vegetarians who don't eat any animal byproducts--are upset because Starbucks had previously stated Frappucinos could be made vegan.
When asked, Starbucks said the strawberry base is not vegan, but many Starbucks ingredients can be combined to made a beverage free from animal products.
However, it said the company cannot guarantee this because of potential cross-contamination in retail shops.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.