Winners From The Air Races

By: Staff Email
By: Staff Email

Another of year of air races has come and gone.

The 2009 Grand Champion and recipient of the National Aviation Heritage Trophy is the 1944 North American SNJ-5C owned and restored by Chuck Wahl of Cameron Park, Calif.

Mr. Wahl will have his name engraved on the trophy, which is displayed at the National Air and Space Museum’s Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center near Washington Dulles International Airport in Virginia.

Winners in other categories are:

Antique Category (Orville and Wilbur Wright Trophy): 1934 Waco YMF-3 - owned and restored by Robert Juranich of Des Moines, Wa.

Classic Category (Paul E. Garber Trophy): 1937 Stinson SR-9F – owned by Richard Rezabek of Santa Clarita, Calif. and restored by Dr. David Stark. The black and red Stinson also was a favorite of the air show fans as it garnered the most votes for the for the National Aviation Hall of Fame People’s Choice award.

Warbird Category: (Henry ‘Hap’ Arnold Trophy): 1940 Ryan STM-2 – owned by William and Claudia Allen of El Cajon, Calif. and restored by Ragtime Aero; engine by Brad Ball.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 59952672 -
Gray Television, Inc.