January 26, 2015
SEATTLE (AP) - Owners of electric cars in Washington state don't pay gasoline or gas taxes, but they're soon going to be hit with a $100 fee to own the battery-operated cars.
A section of Washington state law that takes effect next year will require electric car owners to pay a $100 annual fee for road and highway improvements intended to compensate for the lack of gas taxes they pay.
The law does not apply to hybrid vehicles or to those that don't exceed 35 mph.
The state says about 1,600 cars currently registered in the state would likely be subject to the fee.
(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.