Federal Regulators Shut 3 More Banks; 6 This Year

WASHINGTON (AP) - Federal regulators have closed three banks - one each in Utah, Florida and Maryland - bringing to six the total number of failures this year.

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. was appointed receiver of the banks: MagnetBank of Salt Lake City, Ocala National Bank of Ocala, Fla., and Suburban Federal Savings Bank in Crofton, Md.

The FDIC says it was unable to find another bank to take over MagnetBank's deposits and operations.

CenterState Bank of Florida is assuming the deposits of Ocala National Bank.

Bank of Essex in Tappahannock, Va., is taking over the deposits of Suburban Federal.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 38726607 - kolotv.com/a?a=38726607
Gray Television, Inc.