AA Flight Makes Emergency Landing in Iceland

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

REYKJAVIK, Iceland (AP) - An American Airlines flight with 145 people on board made an emergency landing in Iceland Tuesday after five crew members became ill following reports of chemical fumes in the cabin.

American Airlines Flight 49 traveling from Paris to Dallas-Fort Worth landed safely at Keflavik Airport just after 1345 GMT (9:45 a.m. EDT). Airport spokesman Fridthor Eydal said mechanics and civil aviation investigators were examining the plane to find the cause of the problem.

"They were apparently having some sort of problems with some sort of fumes in the cabin," said spokesman Tim Smith of American Airlines, a unit of AMR Corp.

The airline said it was sending a replacement plane from London to pick up the 133 passengers and 12 member crew. The replacement flight was due to leave at 2015GMT (4:15 p.m. EDT), according to the airport Web site.

The five crew members were in the cooking area of the Boeing 767-300 when they became ill, Civil Protection Agency officials said in a statement. Eight ambulances and health department were sent to the airport but later withdrawn.

Eydal said the crew members who had complained of dizziness or nausea were treated at the scene and no one was taken to hospital.

Keflavik, Iceland's international airport, is located about 30 miles (50 kilometers) west of the capital, Reykjavik.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KOLO-TV 4850 Ampere Drive Reno, NV 89502
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 90759239 - kolotv.com/a?a=90759239
Gray Television, Inc.